Tags

,

In two weeks time I will be on a flight back to the states. I will be saying goodbye to Taiwan’s gorgeous mountainous terrain, and hello to the flatlands of Ohio. In preparing for this big change I have committed to doing at least one trail run and one new recipe a day.

Today’s run took me through the city and up Elephant Mountain. Lots of stairs, 400 meters of elevation gain, and some great trails~

After finishing my run I came back home and started on my recipe for the day: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. This dish is a rich and warm breakfast option, that packs a good amount of protein. You can substitute raisins for dried cranberries if you prefer your oatmeal to be a bit sweeter.

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal
Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal
1 Cup Cooked Oatmeal
1 Tbsp of Flax Seeds
1 Large Banana
1/2 Cup Soy Milk
1/2 Cup Cooked Pumpkin
1 Tbsp Cinnamon
1 Tbsp Nutmeg
1/16 Cup Raisins
1/8 Cup Walnuts
______________
Toppings: Sliced Apples

Directions:
1. Combine pumpkin and the soy milk together in a pan over medium heat. Tear apart the banana–or slice it if you don’t like sticky fingers, and then added it into the pan. Stir for one minute.
2. Add the cooked oatmeal, raisins, walnuts, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Let it simmer, while stirring occasionally, for 3-5 minutes.
3. While it is simmering, cut up whatever fruit you prefer. I chose apples, which add a nice crispness to this warm concoction.
4. Assemble in a bowl, and dig in!

Makes two servings~

